Call For Free Initial Consultation
(615) 898-0607


Home » DUI Attorney | Murfreesboro TN » DUI Law Overview

DUI Law Overview

tn-dui-law-overview-murfreesboroTennessee Law: DUI Overview

In the state of Tennessee, Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a severely punished misdemeanor. Prosecution for DUI is often severe and serious compared with that of other misdemeanor crimes, and unlike many other crimes, with DUI, even your arresting officer’s opinion can tip the scales and land you in jail. Furthermore, the state of Tennessee’s DUI laws are complicated; therefore, a competent DUI lawyer — one with proven training and experience — is crucial in your struggle with an arrest for DUI.

If you are arrested for DUI in the Murfreesboro area, hire a DUI lawyer who is familiar with the important points of your DUI case. Your lawyer has to know how a breathalyzer works, how the human body metabolizes alcohol, and how the opinions of law enforcement and the specific circumstances of your arrest might affect your legal case.

Rob Turner has a proven track record in dealing with DUI cases. If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI in Murfreesboro, Nashville, or anywhere the middle Tennessee area, hiring Rob Turner will provide you with the experienced and savvy legal council necessary to build a solid defense that protects all of your legal rights to the fullest extent.

Tennessee DUI Sobriety Tests

Under Tennessee state law, someone with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over .08% cannot legally operate a motor vehicle. For those under the legal drinking age of 21, the legal BAC is under .02%. If an officer pulls over your vehicle and believes that you are driving with a BAC level above the legal limit for your age, you will be detained and possibly arrested. The officer with then ask you to complete a Standardized Field Sobriety Test. This test consists of three parts:

  1. Horizontal gaze nystagmus — for this test, your eye movement will be measured and used to estimate BAC.
  2. Walk and turn — for this test, you will be asked to follow instructions to walk and turn. The results of this test will be used to estimate your BAC.
  3. One-leg stand — for this test, you will be asked to stand on one leg, and your performance will be measured. This measurement will be used to estimate your BAC.

Upon completion of those three tests, the officer will read your the “implied consent law”, and advise you that if you fail to submit to a BAC test, then your driving privileges and driver’s license will be revoked for one year in violation of this implied consent law. The officer will determine your BAC either by breath test or by blood test. The officer can choose either, but you have a right to a different test at your own expense. After completing the Standardized Field Sobriety Test, whether or not you consent to a BAC test, you will be arrested and immediately taken to jail, where you will be charged with DUI.

Tennessee DUI Penalties 

If this is your first DUI, and you are found guilty or plead guilty to DUI, Tennessee law states that the all of the following penalties apply to your conviction:

  • Mandatory minimum of 48 hours in jail
  • 11 months 29 days suspended sentence
  • 11 months 29 days suspended probation
  • $350 fine plus court costs
  • 24 hours of community service
  • Loss of driver’s license for one year
  • Must attend alcohol safety school
  • Ignition interlock device installed if your BAC upon arrest is over .20%

Contact a Murfreesboro or Middle Tennessee Defense Lawyer

If you have been charged with DUI in the Murfreesboro, Nashville, or middle Tennessee area, hire an experienced and savvy DUI attorney who is familiar with multiple DUI resources and a variety of DUI defense strategies. At Turner Law Office, P.C., DUI lawyers at our Murfreesboro location have been practicing defense law for over twenty (20) years, and are committed to protecting all of your legal rights, at all times, in and out of court. Call today, or go online to set up your Free Initial Consultation to meet a skilled lawyer with proven experience and commitment who can fight and win your DUI case.

(615) 898-0607